Bloomfield and Shiprock traveled to Santa Fe to the home gym of the No. 1 ranked team in 3A and held their own Saturday.
Bloomfield finished in second place at the District 1-3A championship behind host St. Michael's while Shiprock finished third.
The Bobcats totaled 180.5 team points to finish behind the Horseman's 234. Shiprock accumulated 144 team points to finish well ahead of fourth place Newcomb (61.5).
Bloomfield qualified all 14 boys for the state tournament while Shiprock is sending 11.
“We set a goal to get everyone to state. It is a numbers game, and we succeeded at doing that,” said Bloomfield head coach Greg Shoemaker. “We did well enough to have six guys in the finals, and a couple of those final matches we lost were real close. I am very pleased and am looking forward to this next week. It looks like we are peaking at the right time.”
Troy Rightmire (132), JD Robinson (145) and Paul Jaramillo (195) were all crowned district champs Saturday.
“The whole gym had the wind taken out of their sails early when JD Robinson got the St. Mike's kid (Xavier Vigil) and stuck him in the first round,” Shoemaker said. “I don't want to play Robinson up too big because he is a freshman, but he doing good. We have had him all year in three different weight classes, and he just does everything we ask of him. Same with all the guys. They are all coming together as  a team.”
Robinson was able to defeat Shiprock's Raygen Charley in the 145-pound final.


Rightmire has settled into a groove at 132 after battling the flu and other ailments much of  the year.
“His wrestling development is improving all the way around. All of that flu stuff is behind him now, and I am real pleased,” Shoemaker said. “He is wrestling in top-notch form.”
Jaramillo came through big at 195 for Bloomfield, who also saw Orin Kennedy (220), Alex Portillo (152) and Jacob Spencer (138) place second after reaching the finals.
Also placing third for Bloomfield was Levi Whittey (106), Donny Trujillo (120), Sheldon Begaii (160), Jerome Abeyta (170) and Aaron Marsden (182).
Placing fourth to qualify for the Bobcats was Ezekiel Jaramillo (113), Daniel Moore (126) and Lorenzo LaMere (285).
Shoemaker said he won't let his team think too much about the state tournament. He just wants the boys to focus on taking it one match at a time.
“We will work hard this week to stay sharp. Our goal is to see how many we can get through for Saturday, and then see what happens,” Shoemaker said. “At the end of it we can sit back and savor it all. Right now we are still just riding it.”
Shiprock had a strong showing with Harlan Ross (152) and Danzell Clark (182) winning district titles.
Also qualifying with second place finishes were Ty Hayes (113), Julian Franklin (120), Charley (145) and Alex Benally (160).
In third place for the Chieftains was Cody Allan (132), Quadry Smith (138) Rayshawn Ben (195) and Micah Devore (285).
Rounding out Shiprock's qualifiers in fourth place was Darius Martin at 106 pounds.
“Shiprock did a good job,” Shoemaker said. “They got their team back around and they are looking tough. They came out doing stuff they normally do really well and I was impressed with those guys today. I know (coach Ben Frazier) struggled with stuff around the Aztec dual time, but his team is coming around good.”
Shiprock head coach Ben Frazier was unavailable for comment at press time Saturday.

Team Scores
1. St. Mike's 234
2. Bloomfield 180.5
3. Shiprock 144
4. Newcomb 61.5
5. Foothill 51
6. Wingate 38

State Qualifiers

3. Levi Whittey, Bloomfield
4. Darius Martin, Shiprock

2. Ty Hayes, Shiprock
4. Ezekiel Jaramillo, Bloomfield

2. Julian Franklin, Shiprock
3. Donny Trujillo, Bloomfield

4. Daniel Moore, Bloomfield

1. Troy Rightmire, Bloomfield
3. Cody Allan, Shiprock

2. Jacob Spencer, Bloomfield
3. Quadry Smith, Shiprock

1. JD Robinson, Bloomfield
2. Raygen Charley, Shiprock

1. Harlan Ross, Shiprock
2. Alex Portillo, Bloomfield

2. Alex Benally, Shiprock
3. Sheldon Begaii, Bloomfield

3. Jerome Abeyta, Bloomfield

1. Danzell Clark, Shiprock
3. Aaron Marsden, Bloomfield

1. Paul Jaramillo, Bloomfield
3. Rayshawn Ben, Shiprock

2. Orin Kennedy, Bloomfield

3. Micah Devore, Shiprock
4. Lorenzo LaMere, Bloomfield