FARMINGTON — Tony Atkinson, a former San Juan County executive and commissioner, is among a class of new appointees to the San Juan Regional Medical Center board of directors.

Also new to the board are Bruce Black, representing the Military Officer Association; Dr. Holly Abernethy, representing the hospital's medical staff; and Karen Morrison, representing the hospital's Auxiliary organization.

Stepping down after three-year terms are Dr. Dwayne Gibbs, former chief of staff; Richard Menning, former Auxiliary representative; and James Shaheen, former treasurer.

The board helps with the hospital's strategic planning.

Continuing members of the 2013-14 board are Sandy Williams, Charlene Scott, Christian Moore, Janel Ryan, Joseph Rasor, Jeff Bowman, Dr. Jack Eberhart, Dr. Charles Hoffman and Michael A. Jakino.