DURANGO John M. Lopez, a certified public accountant, has joined FredrickZink & Associates, a Durango accounting, tax, and business consulting firm, as a senior tax accountant.

A frequent visitor to Durango, John is excited to be building his new home in a favorite vacation destination. He brings to Durango his years of experience in public accounting auditing nonprofit organizations and common interest realty associations, along with the preparation of business, nonprofit, and individual tax returns, the firm said in a statement.

Lopez grew up in El Paso, Texas and earned his bachelor's degree in accounting from the University of Texas at El Paso. He has also lived and worked in Bakersfield, Calif. and Fort Myers, Fla.

FredrickZink & Associates, PC is located at 954 E. Second Ave. in Durango. For more information or to set up an initial consultation with FredrickZink & Associates, call 970-247-0506.

Sonas Integrative Medical Center announces new staff member

DURANGO Sonas Integrative Medical Center welcomes the addition of Bronwyn Radcliffe, a board certified family nurse practitioner.

Radcliffe has practiced preventive and functional medicine, with a special emphasis on health and wellness, since 2007.

"We are enthusiastic to have Bronwyn on board at Sonas," said Renae Blanton, owner of the Sonas Integrated Medical Center. "She is an experienced holistic nurse practitioner who shares our vision to bring affordable integrative family medicine to our community.



Radcliffe earned her bachelor's degree in nursing from Virginia Commonwealth University/Medical College of Virginia in 1998. Furthering her education at the August Institution, she received a master's in nursing with a special concentration in family practice in 2001.

Her specialties include family medicine and prevention, thyroid, women's health and bio-identical hormone replacement, chronic illness including adrenal dysfunction, chronic fatigue, high blood pressure, digestive disorders. and mental health.

Sonas Integrative Medical Center LLC, 3750 Main Ave., Suite 4, accepts insurance and has a membership service for those without insurance or high deductibles.

For more information, call Sonas at 970-247-2500.

Fastsign's Unruh selected to represent Colorado

DURANGO Jessica Unruh, a visual communications staffer at Fastsigns, was recently selected as one of three young professionals to represent Colorado during a Rotary Club-sponsored exchange in South Korea.

Unruh and two other exchange participants and the group leader will spend a month in South Korea starting March 22. While there, the group will live with host families, experiencing the culture and the history in each city they visit. The participants will also take part in a shadow program to learn how their vocations are practiced in the host country, cultivate personal and professional relationships, and exchange ideas.

"I've always wanted to travel and see the world, so when I learned that they were looking for participants for this program, I was immediately interested," Unruh said in a prepared statement. "For our shadow program, we select the industries we are most interested in. I am interested in learning more in the business-to-business and digital advertising sectors, however I won't know exactly what I'll be doing until I get there."

The study exchange is sponsored by Rotary District 5470 in Colorado, Rotary District 5370 in the Republic of Korea and the Rotary Foundation. One of the requirements to apply for the program was for the applicant to have the ability to leave their job for a month while they participate.

Fastsigns of Durango is a signage, graphics and visual communications business. For more information, visit www.fastsigns.com/560-durango-co or call 970-247-8000.

Region 9 announces New Board members

DURANGO The Region 9 Economic Development District of Southwest Colorado recently announced the elections of Dennis Golbricht, Mary Jo Coulehan, Gary Reid and Kim Dillivan to the Region 9 board of directors.

Golbricht is the Dolores County attorney and will be an alternate. Coulehan is the executive director of the Pagosa Springs Chamber of Commerce, Reid is a Rico Town Board member and Dillivan is a Dove Creek resident and Colorado State University Extension agent. 

Region 9 is a public-private partnership that promotes and coordinates economic development efforts in five Colorado counties. The Region 9 board is comprised of representatives from 17 local governmental jurisdictions and nine members from the private sector. The board meets quarterly.

For more information, call 970-247-9621.

Farmington optometrist joins national network

FARMINGTON Advanced Family Eyecare recently joined a national, private-practice optometric network, Vision Source.

Owner and practitioner Dr. Jared C. Olson has practiced optometry in Farmington for more than seven years. Olson is a graduate of Southern California College of Optometry.

Advanced Family Eyecare specializes in contact lenses, pediatrics and Keratoconus.

"Joining Vision Source will allow me to better fulfill my mission to serve patients and the community by providing the highest quality vision care and service possible," Olson said in a prepared statement.

Advanced Family Eyecare is located at 1711 E. 20th St. in Farmington and can be reached at 505-326-4080.

Founded in 1991, Vision Source is North America's largest network of private practice optometrists.

San Juan Regional appoints new board members

FARMINGTON Tony Atkinson, a former San Juan County executive and commissioner, is among a class of new appointees to the San Juan Regional Medical Center board of directors.

Also new to the board are Bruce Black, representing the Military Officer Association; Dr. Holly Abernethy, representing the hospital's medical staff; and Karen Morrison, representing the hospital's Auxiliary organization. San Juan Regional announced the changes Tuesday.

Sandy Williams, who serves as board chairwoman, said the new members bring a variety of different skills.

"I'm excited to work with these new people," she said. "I think they're going to fit in really well."

Stepping down after three-year terms are Dr. Dwayne Gibbs, former chief of staff; Richard Menning, former Auxiliary representative; and James Shaheen, former treasurer.

The board helps with the hospital's strategic planning and oversees the chief executive, Rick Wallace.

Continuing members of the 2013-14 board are Williams, Charlene Scott, Christian Moore, Janel Ryan, Joseph Rasor, Jeff Bowman, Dr. Jack Eberhart, Dr. Charles Hoffman and Michael A. Jakino.