processed by IntelliTune on 30012013   163031with script _New Nice Image-CTP
processed by IntelliTune on 30012013 163031 with script _New Nice Image-CTP
FARMINGTON — Tuesday's school election will be quiet or busy depending on the school district as residents choose school board members and and decide whether to support capital-improvement taxes.

The Aztec, Bloomfield and Farmington school districts will be hosting elections for board members but Bloomfield is the only district with multiple candidates competing for the three district seats.

The District 2, 4 and 5 seats are open. Three candidates are competing for the District 4 seat while the others have two candidates each.

Of the seven candidates competing in the district, District 2's Karen Ransom is the only board member running for reelection.

The school district approved moving to a convenience center voting system during December's board meeting, which provides four voting centers for nine precincts. Any Bloomfield resident registered to vote in District 2, 4 or 5 may vote at any of the four locations.

Voters will decide whether to continue a 2 mill levy for capital improvements that include school technology and maintenance, Superintendent Joe Rasor said.

"The funds are used to keep our buildings upgraded, keep our IT department working, so that we can work on, repair and replace IT equipment," Rasor said. "We use the funds to put roofs on the buildings and to do regular maintenance."

Aztec Municipal School District also will be voting on a continuance of its 2 mill tax levy, which has been in place for the last six years.


The continuance proposed includes a small annual tax increase, Superintendent Kirk Carpenter said.

The current rate of $1.886 per $1,000 of net taxable property value will rise to $2. This is an increase of a little more than 11 cents on the dollar or six percent from the current rate.

A home valued at $150,000 with a $50,000 net tax value will see a tax increase of $5.70, according to figures provided by the school district.

Carpenter said the school district never takes any increase lightly but due to a loss of revenue from the assessed value of oil and gas in the region, property taxes were raised county-wide hitting residents in the school district the hardest.

"Unfortunately, we've been victims of the perfect storm," Carpenter said. "It's an important funding source for the schools."

The school district receives $1.8 million a year from the levy, with about $1.4 million allocated to the maintenance and technology departments.

The money is designed to fill the educational funding gap between the operational budget -- used for textbooks, salaries, benefits and utilities -- and bond proceeds, which are used for major construction and renovation projects.

Approximately 83 percent of the operational budget is dedicated to salaries and benefits, Carpenter said.

This is the first school-board election since members were assigned to districts -- rather than running at large -- when the school district population exceeded 16,000 residents.

District 1, 2 and 3 seats are open, with the candidates running unopposed. District 3 initially went unfilled but Robert James Dusenberry Jr. is listed as a write-in candidate on County Clerk's website.

When the districts were finalized, board members Wayne Farmer and Christy Lillywhite both were in District 2 but with Farmer retiring, Lillywhite will finish out his term, which ends in 2015. Board President Mitch Waggoner is running unopposed in District 1.

For the Farmington board member elections, voters will need to travel to the San Juan County Clerk's Office to vote.

Superintendent Janel Ryan said if board member candidates have no opposition, one voting precinct is used.

"Since there is one (candidate each) in District 2 and 3, we left the voting precinct over at the county clerk's office," Ryan said. "We've done that in the past."

Running just one precinct for voting helps the district save on operations cost, Ryan said.

Deputy Secretary Bill Young is up for reelection in District 3 while a new candidate, Robyn Hoffman, is running unopposed for District 2.

Ryan said Board Secretary Nancy Delong is unable to run for reelection following redistricting based on the 2010 Census, leaving Delong in the same district as board member Kyle Rhodes.

"In two years when Kyle's position is up, if Nancy chooses, she can run against Kyle," Ryan said.

------Polling places--------

Aztec Municipal School District

Aztec Schools Administration Building, 1118 W. Aztec Blvd., Aztec

Flora Vista Fire Station, #2 Road 3275, Flora Vista

Cedar Hill Fire Station, #4 Road 2343, Cedar Hill

Bloomfield Municipal School District

Blanco Elementary School, 7313 U.S. Highway 64, Blanco

Dzilth-Na-O-Dith-Hle Community School, 35 Road 7585, San Juan County

Huerfano Chapter Facilities, 536 Road 7150, Bloomfield

Bloomfield Cultural Center, 333 S. First Street, Bloomfield

Farmington Municpal School District

San Juan County Clerk's Office, 100 S. Oliver Dr., Aztec