FARMINGTON — Residents throughout San Juan County on Tuesday filed paperwork to declare their intentions to run for city offices in Farmington, Aztec and Bloomfield.

Tuesday was the only day candidates could file the paperwork to run for municipal offices. Elections in the three cities are scheduled on March 4.


In Farmington, nine residents submitted declarations of candidacy to run for positions on the Farmington City Council and for municipal judges.

Tommy Roberts, the incumbent, and Matt Dodson are running for mayor. Nate Duckett and Debra Mayeux are running for the District 4 council seat. Incumbent Councilor Gayla McCulloch is running uncontested for the District 3 council seat.

Councilor Gayla McCulloch, left, files paperwork Tuesday to run for the District 3 seat on the Farmington City Council with City Clerk Dianne Smylie,
Councilor Gayla McCulloch, left, files paperwork Tuesday to run for the District 3 seat on the Farmington City Council with City Clerk Dianne Smylie, right, at City Hall in Farmington. McCulloch is running uncontested. (Megan Farmer / The Daily Times)

Bill Liese and Rena Scott are running for municipal judge. Bill Standley and James Rowland are running for part-time municipal judge.

All positions are four-year terms.

Among the contested races is the bid for mayor.

Roberts was born in Farmington and has practiced as an oil and gas lawyer since 1976, according to his online biography. He has served two four-year terms as a councilor and a four-and-a-half-year term on the city's board of education, according to this biography.

Dodson is a former board member of the River Reach Foundation, a local nonprofit group dedicated to preserving the city's riverfronts. He has lived in Farmington for at least 20 years.

He said he wants to raise Farmington's minimum wage to at least $10 an hour and legalize the possession of marijuana within the city.

"It's far past time to legalize marijuana," he said.


Aztec runs on the commission-manager form of government, which allows commissioners to serve four-year terms by election. Once elected, commission members vote to appoint the mayor at the commission meeting directly following the election. Though the city is divided into five districts, commissioners represent the entire city.

Three seats on Aztec's Commission -- Mayor Sally Burbridge, District 2; Eugene Current, District 4; and Mayor Pro-tem Jim Crowley, District 5 -- will be open in the March election. Jim Crowley and Eugene Current are not seeking re-election.

Mayor Sally Burbridge dropped by the city clerk's office to file paperwork to run again for her district's seat on the commission. Burbridge broke the news on her Facebook page Tuesday. She became mayor in 2008.

Joe Hubbard, a former city employee, will run against Burbridge for the District 2 commission seat.

Katee McClure, arts promoter, will run for the District 4 seat.

Sheri Rogers will run for the District 5 seat.


Bloomfield is not divided into districts. City councilors each represent the entire city.

In Bloomfield, two positions -- those of Councilors Elwin Roark and Pat Lucero -- on the city council are open.

Lucero is stepping down. Roark, an oil and gas consultant, is running for re-election. Roark was elected in a 2012 in a special two-year term to replace Councilor Lynne Raner, who retired her seat in 2012.

Scott Eckstein announced he would seek a third term as mayor. Eckstein was first elected to city council in 2004. He was first elected mayor in 2006. Eckstein also represents District 3 as chairman for the county commission.

Former jockey and horsemanship teacher DeLaws Lindsay filed paperwork to run for city council.

Current Municipal Judge Marlon Maloy is running for re-election. Kristi Phillips, a science teacher at Charlie Y. Brown High School, is running against Maloy for the judge's seat.

James Fenton covers Aztec and Bloomfield for The Daily Times. He can be reached at 505-564-4621 and Follow him @fentondt on Twitter.

Dan Schwartz covers government for The Daily Times. He can be reached at 505-564-4606 and Follow him @dtdschwartz on Twitter.