Farmington — Two more individuals have tossed their names into the Navajo Nation presidential race.

Christopher C. Deschene and Dale Edison Tsosie, both of LeChee Chapter in Arizona, filed their applications for the presidency in April, according to the Navajo Election Administration.

Deschene is a former Arizona state representative and was the Democratic nominee for Arizona secretary of state in 2010.

Tsosie previously ran for the presidency in 2010 and received 2,142 votes in the primary election.

They join a list of presidential candidates composed of Donald Benally, of Shiprock Chapter, Kenneth Maryboy, of Mexican Water Chapter in Arizona, and Myron McLaughlin and Joe Shirley Jr., both of Chinle Chapter.

Benally is a former Shiprock Chapter official and former council delegate.

Maryboy is the council delegate for Aneth Chapter in Utah and Mexican Water, Red Mesa, Teec Nos Pos and Tólikan chapters in Arizona.

McLaughlin is vice president of Chinle Chapter.

Shirley served as tribal president from January 2003 to January 2011.

Five other people have picked up applications for the presidency but have not filed the paperwork, according to the election administration.

The list for candidates running for the Navajo Nation Council from chapters in the Northern Agency lists two former delegates' names.

Francis Redhouse filed his candidate paperwork on April 15 for the position of delegate for Teec Nos Pos Chapter.

Davis Filfred filed his paperwork on April 2 to become the delegate for Aneth Chapter.

Redhouse was the chairman of the defunct Ethics and Rules Committee.

Filfred was a member of the defunct Health and Social Services Committee.

The filing deadline is May 28 for the presidency, the council, the Navajo Board of Election Supervisors, the Navajo Nation Board of Education and the Township in Kayenta, Ariz.

The primary election is Aug. 26, and the general election is Nov. 4.

Noel Lyn Smith covers the Navajo Nation for The Daily Times. She can be reached at 505-564-4636 and Follow her on Twitter @nsmithdt on Twitter.