FARMINGTON — The Shiprock office of the Navajo Election Administration has released the unofficial results of Tuesday's special election for the chapter presidency at Tiis Tsoh Sikaad Chapter.

The unofficial results show Perry Begay Sr. received 68 votes in the recall election, followed by Raymond Anderson with 55 votes and Lester Begay, the former president, with 48 votes.

Under the Navajo Election Code, the one candidate who receives the largest number of votes wins a special recall election.

The results are unofficial until the Navajo Board of Election Supervisors certifies them, which could happen 10 days after the election if no grievances are filed.

The special election was on Tuesday. It was held after Lester Begay was recalled as chapter president in May via a recall petition.