Results from Navajo Nation primary election

These are unofficial results from the Navajo Nation primary election's presidency race and the races for council delegates in the Northern Agency. The results are unofficial until certified by the Navajo Board of Election Supervisors.

Presidential candidates

Joe Shirley Jr.: 10,910

Chris Deschene: 9,734

Russell Begaye: 7,404

Donald Benally: 5,286

Kenneth Maryboy: 3,153

Edison J. Wauneka: 2,454

Ben Shelly: 2,446

Myron McLaughlin: 2,333

Carrie Lynn Martin: 2,136

Dale E. Tsosie: 1,278

Duane H. Yazzie: 1,112

Moroni Benally: 965

Cal Nez: 592

Edison "Chip" Begay: 547

Hank Whitethorne: 398

Kee Yazzie Mann: 336

Dan Smith: 216

Navajo Nation Council
Shiprock Chapter

Ray Begaye: 540

Tom Chee: 468

Wallace Charley: 301

Lula Jackson: 225

William Lee: 187

Rose Fasthorse Nofchissey: 178

Myron Begay: 66

Wilbur M. Nelson Jr.: 42

Jerry Jay Todacheene: 17

Beclabito, Cove, Gadii'ahi-Tokoi, Red Valley, Sheep Springs, Toadlena-Two Grey Hills and Tsé Alnaozt'i'í-Sanostee chapters

Larry Duncan: 662

Amber Kanazbah Crotty: 572

Everett Howe: 468

JR Hunt: 390

David L. Tom: 240

Eloise Brown: 228

Stanley Hardy: 207

Aneth, Mexican Water, Red Mesa, Teec Nos Pos and Sweetwater-Tolikan chapters

Davis Filfred: 869

Steven S. Benally: 435

Herman Farley: 411

Francis Redhouse: 316

David John: 266

Nenahnezad, Newcomb, San Juan, Tiis Tsoh Sikaad, Tse'Daa'Kaan and Upper Fruitland chapters

LoRenzo Bates: 1,505

George Arthur: 614

WINDOW ROCK, ARIZ. — Voters in the Navajo Nation's Northern Agency narrowed down their choices for tribal council delegates during the Navajo Nation primary election on Tuesday.

Shiprock Chapter had nine candidates vying to represent it, and former state representative Ray Begaye came out on top with 540 votes, according to unofficial results. He could not be reached for comment on Tuesday evening.

Tom Chee finished second with 468 votes. He said he was thankful to his supporters and added that he wants to unify Shiprock as a council delegate, if elected.

Chee also said he pledges to use his base salary as a delegate for community projects that bring elders and young people together. Navajo council delegates make about $24,000 a year.

"That's my pledge to them. I am dedicated to the welfare of the youth and elders," he said in a phone interview.

The field for delegates looking to represent seven Northern Agency chapters — New Mexico's Beclabito, Gadii'ahi-Tokoi, Sheep Springs, Toadlena-Two Grey Hills and Tsé Alnaozt'i'í-Sanostee chapters and Arizona's Red Valley and Cove chapters — was also cut down from seven to two.

Larry Duncan, of the Tsé Alnaozt'i'í-Sanostee Chapter, won the primary with 662 unofficial votes. He could not be reached for comment Tuesday evening.

Amber Kanazbah Crotty, director of the Diné Policy Institute, came in second place with 572 votes unofficially. She said she hopes voters take her experience into consideration as they prepare to vote in November's general election.

Crotty, of the Sheep Springs Chapter, worked as a legislative assistant for Council Delegate Nelson Begaye. She said that experience helps her understand the role delegates play in establishing policy.

"I would like voters to consider my experience and background of working on legislative issues," she said.

She added she has experience in county, state and federal issues and wants to continue working to complete the Navajo-Gallup Water Supply Pipeline.

Voters on Tuesday also narrowed down the two candidates who want to represent Arizona's Mexican Water, Sweetwater-Tolikan and Teec Nos Pos chapters and Utah's Red Mesa and Aneth chapters. Five candidates were listed on the primary ballot.

Former council delegate Davis Fildred, of the Aneth Chapter, won the race with 869 unofficial votes. Tolikan Chapter's Steven S. Benally ended in second with 435 votes. Neither could be reached for comment.

The delegate race for the San Juan, Tiis Tsoh Sikaad, Newcomb, Tse'Daa'Kaan, Nenahnezad and Upper Fruitland Chapters was set even before Tuesday primary election, with only two candidates filing for the seat.

Upper Fruitland Chapter's LoRenzo Bates, current delegate and interim speaker of the tribal council, will face former delegate George Arthur, of the San Juan Chapter.

Erny Zah is The Daily Times business editor. He can be reached at 505-564-4638.and Follow him @ernyzah on Twitter.