FARMINGTON — Three San Juan County basketball players earned First-Team All-State honors from the New Mexico High School Coaches Association this week.

Shiprock's Taylor Henderson, Navajo Prep's Jasmine Coleman and Kirtland Central's Christian Mackey were named to the team after a vote by coaches from around the state.

Henderson led the Lady Chieftains in scoring, with an average of 10.6 points per game as Shiprock finished the season with a 29-1 record.

"It's well deserved for her. She put it the hard work to earn that," Shiprock head coach Larenson Henderson said.

Shiprock advanced to the 3A state championship game this season, falling in overtime to Portales 62-59.

Kirtland Central’s Christian Mackey (32) goes up for a layup against Aztec High School on Feb. 4 at Kirtland Central High School.
Kirtland Central's Christian Mackey (32) goes up for a layup against Aztec High School on Feb. 4 at Kirtland Central High School. (Jon Austria — The Daily Times)

Coach Henderson said he was a little surprised his daughter, Taylor, was the only Lady Chief to make the squad after the team's nearly perfect season.

"I'm not really sure how the voting goes. I understand Portales won it, but two of their girls weren't the ones that hurt us in the finals," he said.

Henderson was joined on the first team by three Portales players, Kambrey Blakey, Savannah Vincent and Frances Armijo, along with Lovington's Joycelyn Jeffrey.

Coleman was named to the 2A first team after a solid, all-around year.

The sophomore led Prep in scoring, rebounding, steals and blocks during a 23-7 season that saw the Lady Eagles advance to the 2A quarterfinals.

Tularosa's Kyanne Kowatch, Ramah's Jordyn Lewis, Texico's Brianna Reyna and Laguna Acoma's Lacey Natseway were also named to 2A girls first team.

Mackey dominated in the paint for KCHS all season, averaging just more than 20 points and 10 rebounds per game to earn his place on the 4A boys all-state team.

"It's amazing, a great blessing to be recognized for all the hard work I put in for this season," he said via Twitter.

The Broncos advanced to the 4A quarterfinals before losing to Centennial 49-40 and finishing with a 20-7 record.

Two Los Lunas players, Chris Sanchez and Jacob Holland, joined Mackey on the 4A first team, along with Cesar Nava of Roswell and Chris Martin of Albuquerque Academy.

Two Shiprock seniors, Justin Begay and Hiram Gleason, were placed on the 3A boys second team.

Begay and Gleason were the top two scorers on a Chieftain team that advanced to the 3A quarterfinals.

District 1-4A also released its all-district teams.

Mackey was named Player of the Year by the coaches in the district and was joined on the first team by his Kirtland teammate Reese Foutz, Piedra Vista's Troy Dixon and Farmington's Alex Whiteley and Max PiƱon.

KCHS head coach John Zecca was named the District 1-4A Boys Coach of the Year.

"He is a great coach, and he deserves it. I'm glad I was able to play for him all my years at Kirtland," Mackey said of Zecca.

On the girls side, PV's Kaleigh Graham was named District 1-4A Player of the Year.

Graham was one of two Lady Panthers on the All-District First-Team, along with Kieyoomia Benally. Farmington's Amber Herbert and Meeya Yazzie and Kirtland's Keeshawna Ockerman also made the first team.

PV's Joe Reed was named District 1-4A Girls Coach of the Year.

Joshua Perry covers sports for The Daily Times. He can be reached at 505-564-4577 and Follow him @jperrysuu on Twitter.