Carlsbad voters have chosen incumbents Steve West, Ron Singleton and Doris Bruton-Carleton to serve on the Carlsbad Municipal Schools Board of Education for four more years. The two-mill levy, which will provide funding for school maintenance projects, also passed on the ballot with flying colors.

The voter turnout was low again this year, according to County Clerk Darlene Rosprim, but it was clear who voters in each district wanted to represent them. The closest race was in District 1, with Bruton-Carleton winning over the runner-up, Cynthia Travelstead, by 66 votes.

But overall, the candidates felt they gave the race their all. On Tuesday, West was walking throughout District 5, knocking on doors, passing out brochures and reminding people to vote in the election. His opponents Brian McGonagill and Jeff McLean were also giving the race their last efforts by making phone calls and talking to people, asking them for their vote.

In District 1, Sandi Wilkie and Cynthia Travelstead said they were finished with their campaign efforts by Tuesday. "I did the best that I could. I hope I win, and if I don't, congratulations to whoever does. I hope the board does a good job," Travelstead said.

Ron Singleton of District 3 had it easy running unopposed. Though Danny Najar's name also appeared on the ballot, Najar had announced his intention to withdraw from the race last month.

Now that the election is over and the results are in, the school board still has a lot to accomplish.


Singleton said that he plans to continue the project to build new elementary schools in Carlsbad, and Bruton-Carleton said she hopes to begin a dual language program in the district.

In his campaign efforts, West said he heard a lot of positive remarks about the schools. But there's still more to do, he said. "Even if our schools were 99 percent perfect, we'd still want to get that last one percent."

Editor's Note: These are the unofficial results of the election. Wednesday, Feb. 6, Magistrate Judge Henry Casteneda, Superintendent Gary Perkowski and County Clerk Darlene Rosprim will meet to approve the results.